July 30, 2014: Time to Browse, Time to Dream

 

bike4

Today’s Perfect Moment is having and taking time to look around the bike shop.  There is just something fundamentally satisfying with looking at new bikes.  It could be the mechanical precision or the sleekness of a modern bike that I find so attractive.  It’s kind of like a sports car, except that I might actually be able to afford one.

Earlier today, I found a bike shop quite close to my work.  Just a bike5short walk in fact.  Seeing as I had free time, and an extremely voracious curiosity for everything bicycle these days, I decided to go take a look.

I entered, expecting to find the “bbike5outiquey” places that seem to have sprung up all over my town.  What I got instead was a more down to earth (though not low cost) type of shop.  They had quite a few bikes, some tools and a little bit of clothing.  More importantly, they didn’t mind me wandering around the shop without buying anything.  They seemed genuinely happy to be in business and serving people.  I also got to overhear several other conversations, and I liked what I heard.  The staff seemed knowledgeable without suffering from “expert” disease.

bike5

I thoroughly enjoyed my time amongst the bikes, helmets, tools and tires.  I daydreamed owning some spectacular machines.  So much so, that I might have to go there again.  While I was hoping that it might cure me of my curiosity, I am afraid it has only made it stronger.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

