July 29, 2014: Being Nominated for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award

 

vib-award

I was nominated for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award this week.  I was pretty surprised to see that in my inbox.  I might have written 80 some odd posts, but I do not know how much , or if any, impact I am making.  Obviously, I will have to re-evaluate that.

I called this blog my own personal happiness project.  I think if you can find one good moment a day, you can feel good.  If you recognize that one moment a day, no matter how brief, that is amazing.  It has really opened my eyes, and I hope it can do that for you.

In accepting this award I have to follow five simple rules (though one of them could be hard).

1. Thank and link the amazing person who nominated me.

Thank you to Donna of My OBT (one beautiful thing).  Her blog is both interesting and inspiring.  Many times I have burst out laughing while reading her words.  I was attracted to her blog because it shares a similar theme to mine, and I find her sense of humour great.  She wrote that we are kindred spirits, I can do nothing but agree.  I am glad we both can focus on positive things each day.

She mentioned that I write oodles of comments on her blogs.  It is true, but that has a lot to do with the source material.  When I find something funny, I want to let her know.  When I find something inspiring, I want to let her know.  Part of what makes blogging interesting is interacting with people.

So, thank you for the nomination.

Here is a link to her blog so you can check it out.

My OBT

  1. List the rules and display the award.

That seems to be what I am doing–though, if this were fight club, we couldn’t talk about it.

  1. Share seven facts about yourself.
  • I am an ESL teacher.
  • I write three other blogs (2 of which you can find on my public profile).  One is on hobbies and my inability to do just one of them at a time.  The other is a place for this slightly angry Canadian to rant a little (mostly about commuting).  I wouldn’t call myself particularly angry, more of a rebel without applause (and yes, that was already taken).
  • I have a pretty deep and scratchy voice which I have had since I was quite young.
  • I am in the midst of a self improvement mode which involves eating better, exercising, reading more, thinking positively and trying to be more confident.
  • The complete lack of pizza in my diet is slowly killing me.
  • I taught my cat to fetch a ball…. and he does it when he wants to.
  • I enjoy writing….editing, not so much.
  1. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

This seems tough.  Why couldn’t the rule be five?  I am not sure I even know how to link these people, let alone come up with fifteen.  I am going to put down 14, including the person who nominated me.  I could randomly fill up the space, but that would just be a huge lie.  The following are blogs that are inspiring, and interesting.

My OBT

Technically, there is no need to nominate her again, but I just want to reaffirm how inspiring her blog really is.

Being Thirty

While thirty is a long time ago for me, I can still relate and find inspiration from this blogger.  The insights found within are very inspiring.  It doesn’t hurt that we work together and know all to well the pain that unmotivated students can cause.

Tokyo Cooney 

Tokyo Cooney is probably more famous for his YouTube videos on Japan.  They inspire me more than his blog does, but I want people to keep encouraging him so that he will eventually get back to making videos.

Alice Gordenker 

Alice writes a fantastic column for the Japan Times Newspaper, as well as appear on TV sometimes.  Her writing is well researched and very informative.  Please check her stuff out.

Becky Says Things

This just makes me laugh.  Perhaps I have a weakness for stick figure drawings.

My Purse is Closed

The idea of not spending money for a year is quite an interesting one.  The author of this blog has a lot of interesting things to say.  How necessary are all the things we are acquiring?

Taggle Talk

I am enjoying this person’s journey, both physical and spiritual–besides, the pictures are awesome.

Tommy in Japan

Eighteen years on and I still have a tremendous fondness for Japan.  I also want to encourage young people to blog.  There are a lot of positive things to be found in this blog.

Live to write–write to live

It is no secret that I want to be an author (an a profit generating one at that) and reading this blog helps me keep things in perspective, as well as inspire me to write more.

Ever the Wayfarer

Though I no longer consider myself a world traveler, I still gravitate to the open road.  When reading this, I can’t help catch glances of a very different world.  Perhaps one day I will go out and grab it.

12TWENTYFOUR

If you’ve read my hobby blog, you will know model building is one of my many, many hobbies.  The authors of this blog put even my best work to shame, and then explain it all to me in excruciatingly beautiful detail.

Real Men Making a Difference

I think the title says it all.  Real men make a difference.  Real men act, rather than boast.   Real men work to make their communities better.   Add some cycling to that and you’ve got a potent combination.

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

If you’re a Seinfeld junkie, you should take a look here.  It’s funny and eye opening all at the same time.  She also writes about journalism and journalistic integrity.

The Immortal Jukebox

I have always thought writing about music is hard, but can be really amazing when done well.  The author’s passion is well displayed and the thoroughness of it all will delight you.

  1. Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you. (Optional)

 

By the time you read this, it will already be posted–if I can figure out how to do that.  As for following the person who nominated me…. I started following her excellent blog after I read her post for the first time.  If you check her out, I am sure you will do the same.

I would like to put the award picture in my sidebar, but I don’t seem to be able to do that.  Any help would be appreciated.

 

Lastly, I think this qualifies as Today’s Perfect Moment

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 29, 2014: Being Nominated for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. myobt says:

    Bravo! That was beautifully done. And thank you for being so sweet about my blog.

    The way I got the award to display on my page is this: dashboard>appearance>widgets>image. Then I (optimistically) renamed the image sidebar “Awards,” included the picture of the award, and Bob’s your uncle, there it was.

Leave a Reply

