July 25, 2014: A Walk Amongst the Books

indigo

I’ve got it in my head to start riding my bicycle again.  As a result, I am doing an overabundance of research.  I say overabundance because I have an older bike, but for reasons not even clear to myself, I find myself thinking about all the tools and specials oils and clothing I will need to pursue this endeavour.  When I bought the bike, I wore a helmet, gloves and cycling shorts.  A few wrenches and some WD-40 was all I needed.  Why I might need more than that (because I am not planning on shelling out for a new ultra carbon…..fill in the blanks with some high tech words …. bike.) is anyone’s guess.

I ended up checking out bike stuff at a few places, but more importantly I went to a bookstore to check out some bicycle maintenance books before I most likely purchase them online at a huge discount. (I know this is wrong of me… but I really can’t help myself–besides, they set themselves up as their own competition and undercut themselves by quite a margin.)

I love walking around the bookstore.  I have always loved that.  Whenever, I am at the mall, I always stop in at the bookstore, despite the fact that a huge bookstore near my work and that I am well known to the online competition.  Perhaps it is the wonderful feeling of being surrounded by books.  Perhaps it is all the lingering creative energy.  Perhaps it is because that is still one of the few places that people are not glued to their cell phones.

I am quite lucky in bookstores.  I have met quite a few people there.  In university, I met a wonderful young lady at the bookstore who became my friend for many years.  In Japan, I met an attractive French woman and a Jazz organist, and on another occasion a girl named Maude.  I guess I feel most relaxed and confident there.

Though the store did not have anything I wanted, I still enjoyed my time there.  Once my main task was complete, I allowed myself time to wander over the classics, browse the bargain books, thumb through a magazine or two (or three), study a little Japanese and even consider a few Christmas presents.

Surrounded by literature, both high and low, it certainly was Today’s Perfect Moment

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

