July 23, 2014: A Calming

clocks2

Today’s Perfect Moment is all about having time.  Too often I am rushing around trying to utilize minute fragments of time to get things done.  At times, I am looking ahead to something while the current moments slip away, only to be frustrated when summer is over and winter has descended up on us again.  Other times, I feel guilty not utilizing the time I have effectively when I opt to Google things rather than pursue a more concrete task.

Today, instead, I had several moments where I just let time flow and carefully watched it pass.  On my way to work, having felt I was late for work, was pleasantly surprised when I discovered I had plenty of time to get there.  I stopped walking so quickly.  On my commute home, I had several minutes to wait for the bus.  Rather than pace, I cracked open The Catcher in the Rye and continued reading about Holden Caulfield. (Just a side note, I read this book many years ago, but I believe I was a bit too young to really appreciate it)

I guess, I just needed some slow time.  I needed to avoid or evade the frenetic energy of those around me.  It’s kind a like a movie technique where the subject doesn’t change, but everything around them moves in rapid motion.  It’s tranquil in its chaos.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

