July 21, 2014: Needing the Good to Balance the Bad

dynamic

Life is full of little headaches.  I think that is why I started writing this blog. I knew I had to focus on the positive because there are so many negative things.  Today I have decided to focus on two positive things.  I think this is because I have just discovered that squirrels or chipmunks have been eating my deck.  I looked out the window and thought they were just eating stuff on my deck.  Unfortunately, they have been eating the actual deck.  Rather frustrating.  This has never happened before.

Rather than expend a lot of energy and typing about my cruel fate, I will instead focus on today’s two Perfect Moments.  Hopefully, they will counterbalance the already mentioned rodent frustration.

First, more tales of student redemption.  When dealing with a large class (or even a small class) I sometimes overlook the effect even one student can have on that class.  One little change in group dynamics can make things dramatically different.  Today, new students arrived, making things better.  New students brought with them new energy and ideas.  New students brought optimism that things would get better and more learning would happen.

I should point out, in all fairness, that one student can also ruin a great class.  One student can turn the happy into sad, the energetic into the lazy.  One student can cause dissent and anger.  However, I will stop because this is supposed to be a positive blog.  I want to be happy with the new students and the breath of fresh air given to the class.fountainhead

The other perfect moment is not about me, but I felt happy noticing it.  When I boarded my bus I noticed a person who I had been on the subway with.  This moment on noticing led to wonder what she was reading.  She was holding Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead.  I loved this book.  I might not have loved all the character’s in it, but I really enjoyed the book.  I had never seen anyone reading it before and I wish I had stopped to talk to her about it–but I didn’t want to seem all stalker-ish.  Hopefully she is enjoying the novel as much as I did.

I almost picked up Atlas Shrugged from the library today, but the book is just too big for my commute.  I am going to have to get the eBook version.

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

