July 20, 2014: Low Stress Shopping (What a difference one month makes)

salad

One fellow blogger wrote that it takes a month to change one’s behaviour.  It takes one month to learn a new habit.  I guess that is true because a bit more than a month into my eat better lifestyle, I can report some changes beyond just the lost pounds.

Today, I went shopping for this weeks groceries.  I have never minded shopping for food before (clothes shopping is something different) but I know that my cart usually held an fair number of treats and overly processed food.

Today, I bypassed most of those things quite easily.  I didn’t feel the tug of chocolate bars or ice cream.  Potato chips didn’t wink at me in the aisles.  In fact, I was much more concerned about hunting down new vegetables and fruit to eat.  It was a weird thing.  I was even able to only minimally glance at the pizza aisle, and it wasn’t with too much regret that I kept going.

All in all, I walked out pretty quickly, and really hadn’t spent that much money.  Of course, the lure of treats (and rewards for good behaviour) are not going to completely go away, but I was surprised at how little pull they had for me today.  I may need to be on my guard in the future, but wow, what a difference a month makes.

So, in case it wasn’t obvious, such low stress and guilt free shopping is Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

