July 13, 2014: Reestablishing Connections

In today’s modern world we have so many ways to connect with people.  We no longer have only the phone and letters, but a plethora (I just wanted to use that word in a post) of ways to electronically track someone down.  Who amongst you hasn’t heard of long lost friends reconnecting on Facebook.  Who hasn’t scoped out someone’s LinkedIn profile hoping to find their high school boyfriend or girlfriend?  If Romeo were actually a real person and not a fictional character (and likewise for Juliet) then the two of them could have texted each other before swallowing the poison.  Things might have worked out a little better.

As for me, in the past year I have managed to find quite a few people that, for me at least, seemed to drop off the face of the earth.  Yes, I admit, I kind of cyber-stalked them.  All I can say is that it worked, and overlook the creepy stalking part.

Finding people is easy, but actually getting in contact with them is more difficult.  Some people want their privacy.  Some people don’t remember me.  Some people probably don’t want to touch me with a ten foot pole (these are mostly people from University…. or Japan–okay, I will stop before this list gets too long).  Respecting that sounds easy, but you still hope people will be in contact, or at least be curious.

Of course, if you forget the password to the email account that is connected to your social media site… well then, you’ve made it difficult for the person to get in touch with you.  I expected email at LinkedIn, and when it didn’t show up, I sighed, shrugged my shoulders and got on with my life.

Today, after several months of not accessing the email account that is connected to LinkedIn, I discovered the password that had eluded me.  I checked the email and discovered a message from one of those dropped off the face of the earth people and quickly responded.  Despite the length of time, she responded back.  It was great to hear from her. 

Now, before I go any further, I should accept some sort of chastisement for having too many email accounts with too many passwords.  That’s all true.  In my defence, I had some seemingly logical reasons for having so many of these things…. I just can’t think of them right now.  Give me time.  I will figure it out.

So, that brings us to Today’s Perfect Moment, which is catching up with old friends and finding out about them.  It makes me feel connected.  It is a gigantic world, but technology and our desire for connections have made it smaller and manageable.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

