July 12, 2014: Epiphany and Blind Luck Make Interesting Bedfellows

sunset

Though I had been thinking about it since I checked the schedule in the morning, I made a rather rash decision to go watch the local (30 minutes away) car races.  When I think about it, rash probably isn’t the right word.  Unprepared is probably a better word.  I checked that I had enough money for the ticket and went out the door.

I am happy to report that it worked out quite well.  I had a good time that instead of including television and the glare of the computer screen, included the roar of engines and the smell of oil and rubber.  Though neither one is particularly healthy, it is nice to get out sometimes.

I can’t give Perfect Moment honours to the whole experience.  The admission process was rather slow and tedious and the bathrooms were sort of campground scary.  On the bright side, I will cite two things that do.

The first is something that all race fans can relate to.  There is a moment in car racing when the car are completely unleashed.  The engine roars with enough ferocity to shake the stands.  They accelerate with thunderous blasts and fly down the front stretch.  For a moment they are all going flat out into the corner, trying to brake that fraction of a second later than the person in front of and behind them.  All the spectators’ eyes widen, and they briefly, unnoticeably, hold their collective breaths.  It is mechanical poetry.

Generally, I prefer road racing to oval track racing, but I can understand what seeing it live really means.  I imagine NASCAR is what I described above only multiplied by a factor of ten or more.  It may be worth a visit to see what all the fuss was about.

The second thing is that I managed to get to my car, get it started and heading out of the parking lot before the masses.  How this happened, I do not know.  If for no other reason that sheer luck of picking a good parking spot, this was perfect.  No waiting, no cautiously inching forward, and no cars when I turned onto the road outside the gates.

Today’s Perfect Moments are  one epiphany and one gigantic piece of blind luck.  That I got them both on one night is wonderful.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

