July 11, 2014 Therapeutic Moments of Sun and Snips

Today, a little after five o’clock, I exited the barber shop into the bright sunshine of late afternoon.  All the troubles and frustration of the day seemed to melt away, and I finally felt like the weekend had arrived.  Seems like a no-brainer to call that Today’s Perfect Moment.

I had been having an annoying day until that point.  It wasn’t a terrible day, just annoying.  Equipment didn’t work, plans fell through, people disappointed, and I had to wait 15 minutes to take the next (and somewhat incorrect bus) because I missed my bus by mere seconds.  On top of that students drove me absolutely crazy.

I am not a big fan of haircuts, or else that might have been Today’s Perfect Moment.  I don’t blame the hairstylist (barber) because in my case, they don’t really have a lot to work with.  However, lately, perhaps because I am resolved to my balding fate, I consider haircuts quite relaxing.  Once, I almost fell asleep in the chair.

As I left the shop I felt like I was leaving my stresses and annoyances on the floor with the clumps of hair that were taken out by electric trimmer and scissors.  They were probably swept up and disposed of as soon as I left the shop.

Outside the sun was bright, but not oppressively so.  Rush hour, which in no way resembles rush hour in a big city, was in full swing and the cars and their rumbling gave an unreal air to everything as I walked to the bus stop.  Despite the noise, and the as yet the distance until home, I felt good.

I cannot say how long Today’s Perfect Moment lasted, but that is hardly the point.  The fact that it showed up at all is wonderful enough.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

