July 10, 2014: Unexpectedly Glorious Silence

Today’s Perfect Moment was silence.  Today, I found silence in a most unexpected place.  Silence when you need to work or think can be wonderful.  Too often because of noise, I have to put my earbuds in just to get some peace.  This drowning out of other noise is okay, but it isn’t the same as silence.  Silence, deep true silence, is amazing.  True silence isn’t blotting sound away, but rather the complete absence of sound.

My work is very hectic these days.  There are lots of new hires, some even hoping to survive well into the winter.  This has made for a cacophony of noise in and around my workplace.  Couple that with a large group of students and you’ve got a recipe for lots of noise.  This can be dynamic and fun, but it can also be stressful.

Today at lunch, a time when noise seems to be inevitable, I noticed that there was no one around.  Usually this means there is a meeting and I have somehow forgotten it.  For reasons that may remain unclear for the foreseeable future, I hadn’t missed a meeting and there were so few people around.  I was alone.

Rather than panic, I decided to drink it all in.   I enjoyed the near total silence.  There was the hum of the photocopier.  In the next room someone was using the paper chopper.  However, there were no discussions surrounding grammar and the application of grammar rules.  There were not pedagogical debates of the PPP method vs. the TTT method.  I had time to think.  I had time to relax.

Almost as fast as it had begun, it disappeared.  The noisy, real world intruded on my Perfect Moment. 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

