July 9. 2014: Students Take the Iniative

initiative 

Today’s Perfect Moment is being bailed out by my students and my pair teacher.  I am pretty organized, but not perfectly so.  As a result, sometimes I forget things that I should do.  If it for the class I am teaching, I can usually correct the error, though it means racing off while the students are doing something to go back to my desk and retrieve an important file, or assignment for the students.

At my school we have something called “reading circle”.  It is a pretty good idea, and I am excited by the results.  The only problem is that it sometimes requires students to do the reading before class.  Getting this ready is not the problem.  The problem is that absent students might not get the material to prepare for class.  I have to compound this with the fact that I handed it out when Brazil was playing Germany in the World Cup Semi Final.  Students were distracted and absent.

So, several students didn’t get the material.  However, if they didn’t prepare, Thursday’s class would be boring.  I was supposed to give the papers to my pair teacher.  Alas, that was what I forgot to do.

Fortunately, the students themselves reminded my pair teacher and he came to me to get the extra copies.  I hadn’t really expected the students to do this–usually getting them to even sit down and open their book requires a taser, handcuffs and a Billy club or two.  This might be the first time that they have taken the initiative….ever.  Okay, maybe not ever, but certainly in the five weeks I have known them.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

