July 8, 2014: Freedom from Lifestyle Sainthood

I hate being told what to do.  I realize that people have lots of good ideas, and sometimes they have the best of intentions, but that doesn’t mean they can force their ideas on me.  I know that sounds stubborn–actually, it doesn’t just sound stubborn, it probably is stubborn.  Too bad.  It’s my life and I will live it according to my rules.  I am happy to get your help but the minute I think you’re being pushy, I will probably push back.

Once again, I start off my post ranting about what I don’t like, only to segue into what made this day perfect.  The truth is, I hope that explaining what I don’t like, you will more easily see what was perfect today.  However, perhaps I am overusing the technique and killing its effectiveness.

Today’s Perfect Moment is that someone decided to offer me help, without any judgement, pressure or an overabundance of “I’m so knowledgeable and superior” posturing that lifestyle saints seem to condescend with.  Yes, you know them.  The I’m eating organic yogurt and organic granola in a fair trade produced bowl with a fair trade spoon and with the perfect ratio of enzymes to …

Okay, perhaps the rant is continuing.

As I was saying, someone decided to give me the kind of help I wanted.  Which means that either this person is quite intuitive or that they have paid enough attention to me to tailor their help specifically for me.  I guess the other possibility is that we are very similar in nature.  Perhaps I am wrong, but I suspect that either of the first two ideas are the more likely ones.

Those of you who have read my blog know that I have been trying very hard to eat healthier this past month.  I have been rewarded with significant weight loss and much better health.  I want to keep the momentum going, so I am looking for ways to eat healthier without venturing into what I have already described as lifestyle sainthood.  I am not depriving myself of all the bad food.  Rather I am just making positive changes without being too radical.  This co-worker of mine gave me some things to check out.  For that I am happy.  This co-worker did not push me and has been quite supportive of my health conscious changes.  For that I am greatful.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, health, lifestyle, Perfection, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

