July 3, 2014: Thank You, Mr. DJ

car radio

I go through a love hate cycle with the radio.  Sometimes it’s so repetitive that I want to scream.  Other times, there might be a variety, but that variety doesn’t contain anything good for my ears.  While I am ranting, I really should mention the large number of commercials I have to endure just to get to the repetitive or dull.

Sometimes, I get in the car and every station I turn to is running a commercial.  I get so frustrated that I just shut the radio off and drive in silence.  I know, I could solve this problem by getting modern and listening to digital radio (everyone I know who has it says it’s fantastic).  That really isn’t the point.

However, sometimes, perhaps rarely, things are quite a bit different.  Today was one of those days.  I had to make a short car ride, and as soon as I turned the ignition, I could sense that something was different.  Just as the car roared to life, I could hear the sound of Van Morrison’s Sweet Thing.  I love this song.  Every time I hear it, the world just seems that much more beautiful and magical.  The next song, arriving without a commercial break, was The Cult’s Love Removal Machine.

I had to exit the car to take care of my errand.  I was feeling good from the music and took care of things with much less stress and annoyance than usual.  When I got back to the car, I was sure that my music luck wasn’t going to continue.

Oh, how wrong.  There were two other great tunes for my ride home.  Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Simple Man followed by the Goo Goo Dolls’ Iris.  I stayed in my garage, waiting until the song ended.

For at least those two short drives, my faith in radio was restored  My mood was much brighter, and the world seemed like a better place.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

