July 2, 2014 Bull’s Eye

darts

I only needed 2 darts.

I started playing darts in the middle of winter. Pretty much every Wednesday, you could find me at the Legion playing darts. Today was no exception. I don’t know if anyone who reads this blog knows about darts, but I hope I can explain it in a way that won’t require some deep knowledge.
Today’s perfect moment comes in a dart game. The dart game in question is called cricket. In cricket you have to score in specially designated numbers 3 times. Once you close all your numbers (and are ahead in the score) and the bull’s-eye, you win. Basically, my partner and I were ahead in the score and we needed 3 bull’s-eyes to win (three green or one red and one green bull’s-eye)
It wasn’t the tensest of games. We were ahead by a good margin, but anything can happen in a game of darts. My partner was the team captain, and as such, is deemed a better player than I. I expected him to hit the bulls (that’s slang) and take us to victory. However, he wasn’t having any luck so it fell to me.
I am pretty new, so I hoped I would hit one of the three. Oddly enough, on my first dart I hit the red bull’s-eye (scoring two). When you do something like this, you are supposed to keep your eye on the board. Oddly enough, I didn’t do that. I turned back and smiled at my partner and teammates. With the next throw, I hit the green bull and we won the game. I felt like a hero. It was just amazing how it worked out. Funny, how little accomplishments can make you feel fantastic.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

