July 1 2014 The Whole Day

I heard some people grumble and be angry because we had to work on Monday, but then we had Tuesday off.  You won’t catch me grumbling.  In fact, I have decided that Today’s Perfect Moment was the entire day.

Unlike typical holidays, I went into this one with a much different attitude.  I decided that this day wasn’t going to be about pressure.  I set no specific tasks for myself other than enjoy a day of not working.  I told myself that I didn’t have to feel guilty about anything I did, or anything I didn’t do.  Today was a day off.

That is not to say I didn’t accomplish anything.  I did.

  • I enjoyed a good breakfast.  The coffee was delicious and complemented the next thing on the list.
  • I watched some great early videos from Kyde and Eric on YouTube.  Their videos of their trip around the world are awesome.  Today, I watched them in the UAE.
  • I finally organized my front hallway.
  • I finally renamed one of my blogs.  I had chosen the name “the Octagonal Peg” hoping to invoke the idea of a square peg in a round hole–I think I over thought that one.
  • I wrote several blog posts for today and the future.
  • I watched an old CSI episode.
  • I fixed a few things.  A fry pan handle had been loose, and my coffee carafe had been way off centre. 
  • I played with the cat.
  • I took out some wall screws that no longer served any purpose other than to taunt me.
  • I watched Tokyo Eye on JIB TV. Tokyo is a fascinating city and this program is so unique.
  • I talked to my Mom.  Never a bad thing to do.
  • I watched History Detectives on PBS.  This is such a fantastic show.  This is what the history channel promised us, but instead gives us a bunch of shows about people dealing in junk.
  • I rested.
  • I read.
  • I commented on some blogs.
  • I felt good.

 

That’s how I spent my perfect day.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

