Today’s Weird Moment

t-shrit

Before I write about Today’s Perfect Moment (which may or may not have already happened, but which I haven’t thought about yet) I felt compelled to write about today’s weird moment (no, not the title of a new blog…. though if I did it weekly… forget it, there is probably too much on my plate already)

I am not sure that I should be putting this post here.  I write several other blogs on other blogging platforms, but I am not sure that they would be any more appropriate.  One is about hobbies, so I think that is out.  One is a place for me to rant against the world, so that’s out.  The other is where I utilize my teaching experience to help my current and former students learn little chunks of English.  So, basically, I have nowhere for this to go but here.  I hope it doesn’t confuse anyone.

Early this morning I awoke, though without the fear of being late for work (Happy Canada Day everyone) I wasn’t too spry.  I kind of stumbled around trying to get my bearings.  I grabbed yesterday’s t-shirt so as to appear presentable to anyone peering in my window as I made my coffee.  On a whim I decided to weigh myself before starting the coffee process.  I have been trying to lose weight for the past month and being a bit successful has made checking my weight a little easier.  Additionally, my glasses were nearby, so I wouldn’t have to squint at the dial.

While none of this is particularly unusual, things would suddenly take a turn, causing the aforementioned weird moment.

Although, I have been having success at weight loss, I wasn’t about to make it difficult by adding the extra weight of the t-shirt.  I dropped the t-shirt on the floor–or so I thought.  After returning successfully from the scale and feeling positive and motivated, I couldn’t find the t-shirt.  We are talking a distance of maybe 12 feet total between the foot of the bed to the scale, maybe a little less.

I scoured the distance between numerous times.  I shook my head to clear the cobwebs.  I looked in other rooms, but the t-shirt was nowhere to be found.  I retraced my steps, which was not particularly hard to do.  I searched everywhere.  I still couldn’t find the t-shirt.

I decided to put something else on and go and make my coffee.

That should have been the end of it.  Most people would just shrug and let it go.  Most people would get on with their day and never give it another thought.  Of course, there are some people who would find the whole thing debilitating and need to shut themselves off from the world (this is no joke, there are people who cannot deal with this kind of thing).  While I am not that bad, I did go back and look a number of times (and if it had only been two, I would have written “a couple of times”).

It kind of reminds me of Pirsig’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance–a fantastic book which everyone should read twice.  I am relating from memory, so if I get the quote wrong, sorry.  He explained the difference in organization between two mechanics.  One was meticulously organized, while the other seemed to have no organization whatsoever.  He stated that both were forms of organization, and that the seemingly chaotic mechanic could instantly lay his hand on any tool in the shop, but that if you moved it even six inches, he would be looking for it for months.

I was left to conclude one of two things.  The first was that I had ghosts in my house, and that they decided that today was the day to start messing with me.  While not an unreasonable assessment, today seemed like a rather odd time to start.  It was Canada day, not some important mystical day.  Besides, moving a t-shirt seemed like such small potatoes that the ghost would have to be a near relative of Casper the Friendly Ghost to be pulling that stuff.

The second conclusion was that maybe I grabbed a different t-shirt than I thought.  Maybe I took one that instead of dropping I  threw towards the hamper.  I was pretty convinced that I had grabbed a different t-shirt, but maybe I was wrong.

Before sitting down to write this blog, I checked the clothesline.  The t-shirt was there.  I want to inwardly chuckle at my own misadventures…but what if my Casper decided to take my t-shirt, wash it at the ghost laundry mat and hang it up for me?

I wasted a lot of time looking for that shirt, so I find it hard to admit my mistakes.  In the end, I guess I will just have to find time to laugh at myself.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today’s Weird Moment

  1. I rarely comment, but I browsed some of the remarks here
    Todays Weird Moment | Today’s Perfect Moment. I actually do have
    2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply
    me or do a few of these remarks come across like they are left by
    brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other online social sites,
    I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

