June 30, 2014: Perfectly Empty

emptybus2

For those who don’t know, tomorrow is Canada’s birthday.  That means Tuesday is a holiday.  In most cases in Canada, we try to organize our holidays so they occur on a Monday or Friday.  This provides everyone with a long weekend, and makes everyone happy.  Of course, we can’t change Canada’s birthday, so Tuesday is a holiday.  Let the fireworks begin.

What about Monday?  Well, Monday divides us.  You see, there are those of us who have Monday off and have an extra long weekend.  However, there are those of us who had to work today.  Guess which one I was.  That’s right, I had to work.  Don’t get the wrong idea.  I am happy I have tomorrow off.  It was going to be my hardest and longest work day, so that isn’t too bad.  The housework is done, so it really is a holiday.

There is one little thing left.  I still have to deal with Today’s Perfect Moment.  It would be easy to be bitter and decry any perfect moment, claiming that the lack of the extra long weekend has destroyed it.  That wouldn’t be true.  This day had a perfect moment.  Besides, I have no use for bitterness.

This morning, on my commute, I encountered the effects of a Monday before a holiday.  My bus was virtually empty.  Rather than be angry that I didn’t get the same four day weekend as my fellow commuters, I concentrated on the silence.  Usually the bus is full of people talking, or horrible music bleeding from people’s earphones, or people grumbling from the accumulated tension.  Today, there was none of that.  Today, there was only silence; gorgeous, glorious silence.

Rare for me, I took time to drink it all in.  I stopped reading and just appreciated it.  I might have looked odd (certainly few people sit and enjoy a bus ride) but that is what I did.  It was meditative and peaceful.  It was perfect.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

