June 29, 2014 Hard to Admit, but Today, It’s Shoes

This one is a little strange for me, but I can’t deny that it was today’s perfect moment.  Now, as I write this, I wonder where I can really go after a line like that.

Let’s get some perspective.  The runner up for today’s perfect moment is the one where I finished cutting the grass and putting away the lawn mower seconds before it started to rain.  While I am not above allowing dumb luck to dictate today’s perfect moment, I just don’t feel this was it.  I wish it were it, then I wouldn’t have to go with the “strange for me” event.  However, as I told someone recently, I tell a lot of truth these days–for better or worse.

Okay, back to today’s perfect moment.  It involves shopping for clothes.

I’ll just let that sink in.

Now maybe you can understand my reluctance to call this perfect.  You see, I don’t really like shopping for clothes.  It is probably one of my least favourite things in the world.  If I indeed trim down, I might like it more.  However, as of this moment, there are hundreds (if not thousands) of things I would rather do than shop for clothes.  Yes, going to the dentist is one of them.

Why do I hate shopping?  I would say it is a combination of poor fashion sense and low self esteem.  Additionally, whatever people tell looks good on me, is usually my least favourite article of clothing.  Trying things on is also about as much fun as washing dishes.

Today, I decided that I needed new running shoes.  While this is probably the least painful form of clothes shopping, it is still clothes shopping.  I went to the same store that I always go to, mostly because they have some bargains, but not a huge selection–it is an outlet.

A couple of years ago, I found a fantastic pair of shoes there.  They were white with black accents and a gum sole.  I called them driving shoes because they were very easy to drive with.  I should have bought ten pairs, but didn’t. 

When those were shot, I went back hoping they would still have them.  Hah Hah!  The joke was on me.  They told me that they stopped making anything like that after they were taken over by another huge global brand.  I could give you a sob story about being devastated, but they were just shoes.

Today, for reasons unknown (to me at least), I found a very similar make of shoes.  They were 40% off, and weren’t that expensive to begin with.  Despite it being shopping, I felt like I had recaptured something.  I felt like I suddenly had some luck.

So we’ll call that a win.  We’ll call that Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

