June 28 2014 Non Shopping Benefits While Shopping

shoppers1

I seem to be going to Shopper’s Drug Mart a lot these days.  I guess the reasons are that I have a whole whack of Optimum points and they are open late.  Probably the latter reason is the more likely one.  True, I have the points, but I haven’t decided what to spend them on.  They had a Blu Ray player once, but I haven’t seen it since then.

I digress….. I digress a lot.  I could work on that, but there are just so many other things to do.

The truth is that the store is loaded with treats and there are several attractive women working in the cosmetics department.  Despite these most legitimate reasons to go there, I actually had a purpose.  That purpose did not include treats.  If you read one of my more recent posts, you will know that I am trying to eat healthier and be healthier.  To that end, I went there to see if they have a scale that measures body fat.

Those of you who have been to the store know that somewhere in the store they have a blood pressure monitor.  I cannot attest to how accurate it is, but if I have time, I usually stick my arm in the cuff and see what it tells me.  My systolic and diastolic pressure are usually in the normal or high range (maybe more often high than normal).  I probably don’t pay enough attention.

shoppers2

Not a picture of me, but a typical experience at the store.

Today, as it was a day like any other, I did the same thing while visiting the store.  I sat down at the machine, put my arm in the cuff, took a second to compose myself, and then pressed the start button.  Truthfully, my mind wandered a little while the test was being administered.  When I looked at it, I couldn’t believe it.  Both my pressures were in the optimal area.  I guess eating better does have other effects, besides losing a couple of pounds.

As I said, I cannot attest to the accuracy of the machine.  However, I can attest to how good I felt.  It certainly gives me reason to keep on eating healthier.  A motivating moment like that is Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

