June 27, 2014: Waiting for the Next Subway Train

subway

It’s probably weird that I find missing the subway by a second or two incredibly frustrating.  Despite the fact that another will be arriving shortly, just the idea that I could have been on that subway is tremendously annoying.  When I know the subway is just down a flight of steps, I race like mad.  If I miss it, I always blame the people who were “in my way” as I raced towards the platform.

Today, mostly because of my own poor planning, I found myself dashing towards the platform to board a subway in the middle of rush-hour.  I made it to the platform on time, despite some blocking techniques from my fellow passengers, but was unable to board the subway because of the mass of bodies that were crowded around the doors (and not the middle space between the doors) left no space for me.

As you can imagine, I was less than happy.  While not nearly as vocal as I am when I miss the subway, I still felt pretty upset about not being able to board this particular subway.  I am sure I muttered several curses under my breath, and perhaps a few of them were audible–no kids or nuns were around, so I claim no harm no foul.

I could have pushed my way onto the car.  I have been to Tokyo, so I know the technique.  I elected not to do that, and did the aforementioned cursing.  In today’s case, I got my temper back under control rather quickly–I blame the healthy eating.  In all probability, I quickly realized that, it was in fact I who chose not to get on that subway.  Such realizations are rather sobering.

So, you’re probably asking yourself, where is the perfect moment in all of this?  It’s nice to get one’s temper under control quickly, but that’s hardly perfect.  It might make for a great self-help book series, which might be lucrative, but not perfect.  I could give myself a pat on the back, and I could say that it was good.  You’ll agree that good is nowhere near perfect.

The perfect moment came a minute later when the next subway pulled up.  This one, for a rush hour, was virtually empty.  I couldn’t sit, but I could stand with my feet wide apart leaning against a partition without feeling jammed by two smelly people arguing about some banal topic.  What I thought of as misfortune turned out to be a blessing.

It might not seem perfect, but considering what it would have felt like on the crowded subway car with minimal air conditioning, I think you should reconsider.  When the subway train stopped in front of me, I am sure I expressed my relief with a loud sigh of approval.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

