June 23, 2014 Not Taking the Old Paths

roads

I had had a pretty busy day at work.  Everything was in flux.  I had new starting time, new rooms to deal with, new people with new quirks (and if you know anything about the ESL industry, you might know how understated this word can be) and egos, new schedules and a greater number of responsibilities.

Despite the negative tone of the previous paragraph, I don’t really want to complain.  Perhaps, I am even playing up the whole stressful thing, knowing how this post ends.  I was too busy dealing with all these things to really sit down and analyze the way I was feeling.  Maybe my mind is making more of it than I should.  After all, I knew it was coming, and unlike most people, I don’t hate change.

Needless to say, I felt good about my accomplishments today, but they were done in a more tense, more time constricted atmosphere.  I know they have taken some kind of toll, but I am not sure what.

In the end, I came home and was pretty beat.  In recent times past this would have been all the excuse I needed to devour a whole pizza and beer and lose myself in front of the television, probably flipping from station to station without any real purpose.  I certainly wasn’t in the mood to cook.  Fortunately, I had some leftover chilli from the weekend, the last chapters of my current book and some orange juice.  Although I did watch a movie and tonight’s episode of 24, I still managed to get a few other things done.

Today’s perfect moment is about not following old paths, taking a meaningful guilt free break, and not taking the easy route.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

