Getting Ahead of the Game

blog

I have been reading a lot about making decisions.  This is due to the fact that I can be quite indecisive at times.  One of the interesting things that I have found out while doing this research, and this is partly due to the fact that some books labeled decisions are not really about making better decisions, but more about he science behind how people choose, is that we often put off growth to deal with tasks that will prevent pain.

Wow, that was a long sentence.  I usually encourage my students to avoid such long sentences as they can become quite incomprehensible–needless to say, I read over mine and I am confident that you can all understand me.

Tomorrow, my work embarks on a new, more demanding schedule.  As a result, I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to fulfill all my blogging commitments–I write a blog for my ESL students that is scheduled to be published every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  My hobby blog and my ranting blog don’t really have a schedule (though, I think they should) so I don’t seem as worried about them.

What I decided to do was schedule in some time today to work on my ESL blog for the next week.  I sat down and had a little brainstorming session with myself, away from the computer where I often find myself staring at the screen until my forehead bleeds–that’s a mangled reference to someone.  I figure if I am not in front of the screen it is probably more conducive to creativity.

Then later, after the shopping was done, I scheduled time to work on the blogs for the week.  As a result, I got the next two weeks done.  That was a tremendous load off my mind.  Now I feel less stress, and I know that some of my blogging will get done on time.  That feeling of accomplishment and preparedness is Today’s Perfect Moment.  For once, I am ahead of the game, and I would like to stay there.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

