June 21, 2014 I Didn’t See It Coming

 

upintheair

I like movies.  That’s a pretty bold statement for a guy who doesn’t have Netflix (yet), but I think it’s true.  I find a way to watch a lot of movies.  The truth is, I fell in love with movies at several distinct points in my life. 

As a youth, I was hooked on science fiction films that played on Sunday afternoons and kung fu films that followed them.  My day had Japanese monsters destroying the plafivenet, and later Shaolin fighters avenging their masters (Think Gamera, think Five Deadly Venoms).

In high school, I discovered old movies that played late at night on local TV channels with either very few commercials, or at least very disturbing ones.  I distinctly remember staying up late at night to watch Stalag 17.  I also remember waiting well past the scheduled start time to see The Great Escape, which being four hours long probably had me up until the sun rose.

I’ve watched foreign films, B films, art house films, and short films.  I watched Hollywood classics, avant-garde films, samurai films, and documentaries.  While, I can’t hold myself up as some amazing film watcher, or profess to some great depthstalag of knowledge, I can at least tell you that sometimes I can see the ending of a movie a mile away.  (Being a Canadian, I should say I can see the ending of a movie 1.6 kilometres away–but it just doesn’t have the same ring to it.)  And, while there are a few things more depressing than that, it still sucks.  I want the filmmakers to challenge me.  I want to be surprised.

Today’s perfect moment is a celebration of when that doesn’t happen.  I was watching Up in the Air (yes, George Clooney, Vera Farmiga, and Anna greatescapeKendrick…… quite a lot of eye candy in this movie for everyone…but I digress) and I could see the movie tracing out a particular path.  Without going into spoiler territory (though I think this is an old enough movie that I really shouldn’t worry about it) I have to admit that the movie through me a pretty good curve.  They got me.  They got me good.  Okay, not Crying Game good, not whodunit good, but still I have to acknowledge that they scored above average.

Despite how it all worked out, I am glad that the movie didn’t take the easy way out.  I am glad that they could keep me guessing.  I have to assume this is do to the source material–which I will probably check out from my library next week.  I wonder when the next time a movie will do this……any recommendations?

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

