June 20 2014 The Beer After

Today I did something that I really never thought I would.  After work, I went to the nearby park and kicked the ball around. Yes, that’s right, the guy who doesn’t get the World Cup, kicked the soccer ball around.  I ran up and down the shortened field like a little boy–and yes I am sore now, and looking forward to much the same tomorrow, perhaps it will be even worse.

While it was fun, I didn’t select it as today’s perfect moment.  Upon reflection, it certainly could have, but my own self designated rules is that I right about “the” perfect moment.  For myself, the ESL teacher, “the” usually signifies one.  And if I am going to pick one, that one isn’t it.

Instead, I choose the beer after the activity.  It was a time to unwind and wait for the muscles to cramp up.  It was a time to talk and joke, perhaps even scan the room for attractive people.  I don’t know if it was the activity beforehand, but it just felt right.  Today’s Perfect Moment is drinking beer in a sports bar with far too many televisions and short skirt clad waitresses.  Not bad for a Friday afternoon.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

