June 18, 2014 Shockingly Good

Michelle Shocked

“How many songs are on your iPod?” is a question I get fairly often.  I first have to explain that I do not have an iPod, but some other MP3 player.  It isn’t nearly as trendy, nor hip, but it functions pretty much the same.  It is an 8 gigabyte model, so it holds a large number of songs.  I think it is supposed to be 2000, but that is only if you choose the most economical song file–which I probably didn’t.

I have had my eye on an actual iPod.  I am thinking about getting the 160GB model.  I figure I could load every single song I have and probably every single song everybody else has on it.  I am digressing a little bit here.  Today’s perfect moment is not about buying an iPod, or getting a fantastic deal (though that would qualify as a perfect moment) rather, it is about music and the fact that most of us carry around a whole lot of music.  I wonder if we listen to even 25 percent of it regularly.

Getting back to the point…. Most days I read during my commute.  I am in the middle of a fantastic novel (see yesterday’s post) and am trying to savour every word.  Despite this, today was a day when I wanted to listen to music rather than read. Perhaps it was the grey, sometimes rainy weather that caused this.  Perhaps it was a solar eclipse in another galaxy.  Whatever the cause, today was a music day.

While scanning through my song list I came across Michelle Shocked.  It had been a while since I last listened to her, so I figured she was a good mix after listening to Rage Against the Machine.

Music has the power to transcend time and space.  When I first heard Michelle Shocked I was living in Japan and my roommate loaned me her CD.  I was captivated immediately.  Her album Short Sharp Shocked is amazing.  It’s full of different styles and moods, from upbeat to dark and moody, with lyrics from profound to quirky.

Today, I fell in love with her music again.  While riding the bus, I was taken back to the day in Japan when I first heard her music.  For the time the songs lasted I was totally at peace.  A moment of rediscovering a piece of music and the power it has definitely qualifies it as Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

