June 7 2014 The Mustang Effect

car4

 

Everybody has a dream car.  Some of us even have more than one.  I break mine down into categories of exotic, unusual and classic.  The unusual include cars from Japan and India.  Exotic includes Porsche, Lamborghini, and Lotus. The classics are Mustangs, Cobras, Corvettes, Thunderbirds and other forms of muscle.  If you go to a car show, you can see all of these.  If you find out when local car owners are having a summer cruise nigcar1ht, you should have no problem seeing some of these cars.

Today’s Perfect Moment is when I spotted my dream car, the 1967 Mustang, Idling at the stoplight I caused by pressing the walk button.  It’s big block engine was idling at a very throaty roar, the black paint looked flawless and the owner had on some very custom wheels.  I crossed the street and couldn’t take my eyes off it.car2

It is hard to explain the feeling when you come across your dream car by accident.  Car lovers among you will know what I mean without needing it explained to you.  Non car lovers out there will probably never understand.  The best I can do is equate it to coming across a deer or moose in a forest.  You know it belongs there, but you just weren’t expecting to see it.car3

Normally quite shy, I couldn’t resist shouting over the rumbling engine to the driver that I thought his car was awesome.  Obviously the owner already knew that, so I can only thank him for his kind thumbs up rather than the “duh” he was probably thinking.

I felt so good that I flirted with a fellow customer in a green dress at the drugstore.

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

