June 6, 2014 Relief in the Form of a Bus

busdepot

Today had quite a few good moments.  I had delicious Mexican food, dozens of selfies with my departing students, beer, ping pong, darts, coffee and conversation.  The last of which would have rated as today’s perfect moment had it ended a bit smoother and closer.

These dizzying array of good events unfortunately created a long night.  While I am not twenty anymore, I still seem to hold my own when the partying is concerned.  I might not be the last man standing (maybe the last few men wobbling) but I usually do my ancestors proud.  While I can survive the long night, the long night leads to a late bus ride, or more likely a long wait for the almost non-existent night bus.

I am a commuter and generally ride the bus on the outer edges of rush hour.  On a normal day there are many busses I can take to get home.  On an abnormal day (read drinking and carousing) I try my best to catch the second last or last bus.  Failing that, I need to wait for the rare “night bus.”

I don’t know how many times I have bounded up the escalator and raced into the bus terminal pickup zone, only to see the taillights of my bus exiting the terminal, destined to go past my home without me as a passenger.

In today’s case, I raced through the building and  ran up the escalator with incredible vigour.  As you might guess, my regular bus had stopped for the night.  I started to think about getting a hot dog from the vendor who never seems to close.  However, I scoured the parking lot and spotted a lone bus and a lone bus stop that seemed to be in use.  As luck would have it, the rare night bus was due to leave in 3 minutes.

Catching a rarely seen bus and being relieved that I would not have to wait at a cold and dark bus terminal for probably an hour or more is certainly worthy of being called Today’s Perfect Moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

