June 5, 2014 A Question of Sandwiches

quiz

Today’s perfect moment is not really an event.  It was a question.  The ensuing conversation that the question spawned was quite good, but it was the question itself that I have selected as the perfect moment.

If you are displaying a stunned or confused look right now….I don’t blame you.  Even as I type this, I know it sounds strange.  I guess I should clarify.  Fortunately, I have a blog where I can do just that.

I work as an ESL teacher.  I face questions from students and staff all day.  While a student might ask me a questions which shows incredible depth, these same students might also ask me a question of such incredible mind numbing density that I am unable to answer.  Those I have to deal with.

I was sitting in the lunchroom, getting ready to eat my sandwich.  Today’s sandwich was by no means legendary (It was missing at least 6 ingredients by my count.), but it was on a nice piece of bread and it looked nice.  Before I go any further, I am known at work for my sandwiches.  They typically include the six ingredients that I said were missing and are usually assembled with love.  It is also true that I have eaten a sandwich for most of my lunches (perhaps 99% of them).

But I digress.

I was sitting at a table between two new attractive, but young and unattainably attached staff members.  Before I could start the devouring process, one, out of the blue, asked me what was the best sandwich I had ever eaten.

What an awesome question.

Despite her newness, she had already picked up on my sandwich habit, and surmised that I had an answer to the question.  I doubt anyone else in that staff lunchroom would have asked me that question.  It showed great insight.  It also showed me that some people have skills at starting conversations.

I know this may sound silly to you, but think carefully.  When was the last time someone asked you a question that was specifically tailored to you?  When was the last time someone paid attention to you and your subtle mannerisms and habits that they could ask a question that only you could answer.

As you can see, I was impressed.  It was a perfect question.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

