June 4, 2014 Sometimes Students Surprise

I teach students from all over the world to read, write and speak English.  This can be interesting in a cross cultural kind of way.  I have learned and been entertained by these students at times.  My many years of experience has taught me that sometimes they are trying to be funny, and at other times they aren’t trying, but they are funny nonetheless.   Of course, I wouldn’t laugh out loud if it would embarrass them.  Usually, this doesn’t happen because I am rarely surprised.  I have heard most of the mistakes before, and most of the jokes are not really new.

Today was special in that way.  Today my students had a writing test.  On this test they were asked to write a story.  This was a happy coincidence for one of the students because he prefers stories to all the other genres that are possible on the test.

When I read the story, which seemed to be about an athlete who suddenly finds himself with incredible athletic skills.  I expected that this story would have the classic Hollywood ending.  While grading the paper, I was sure how it would end.

However, didn’t my student do something amazing. Didn’t he just totally blow my expectations out of the water.  Didn’t he do an complete 180.  These superpowers were actually vampire related and the great athlete went on a feeding frenzy in the stadium.

I laughed out loud while I was reading.  Of course many of the students wanted to know what I was laughing about.  I decided to give the student the highest marks I could.  It isn’t so often that a student can really surprise me.  When they do, it will most likely be the day’s perfect moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

