June 1, 2014 Tales of the Dutiful Son and his Beer

beer4

Not exactly how I drunk it, but this wouldn’t be too bad.

I don’t find yard work enjoyable at the best of times.  However, it is one of those necessary evils–I guess.  Today I had the pleasure (Hmmm?) of doing some chores for my father.  These chores saw this dutiful son scaling a tall ladder and lopping of tree branches that somehow failed to survive the harsh winter.  Normally the conqueror would boast at being the survivor, but I remember just how harsh a winter it was.

After the work was done and the tools put away, there comes a perfect moment to enjoy a beer.  While a huge beer snob I certainly am, when your body aches from the exertion, and the sweat cakes your dirt and wood covered shirt, pretty much any beer, be it bottles or cans, tastes awesome.  I couldn’t even tell you what beer it was, but I know that it wasn’t long before I had another.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

