May 31 2014 An Unintended Nap

 

Somewhere in my teens there was a book, perhaps originally a refrigerator poem, called something like Everything I Ever Learned, I Learned in Kindergarten–I think that is what it is called.  Like a lot of things, if I really need to be accurate, I would probably have to look it up.  This wouldn’t be hard, because I am using a computer to type this up, after all.  Because that isn’t really the point, and I am not going to quote it directly (I can’t because I don’t actually have the book).  I Just wanted to impart two things the book taught me (I believe, because without the book I cannot be so sure) that have stuck with me.

  1. Cookies and milk taste great together.   Since I am an avowed cookie dunker (milk or coffee, occaisionally booze) I known this on a cellular level my whole life.
  2. Naps are good.  I generally don’t like sleep.  I don’t love sleeping, and I rarely look forward to sleeping.  However, an unexpected nap, on the couch, most often a result of boring television or physical exhaustion, is a wonderful thing.  Since my cat took it upon himself to join me, I am pretty sure it qualifies as today’s perfect moment.
About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

