May 29, 2014 A Moment of Understanding Between Commuters

Image

Today had lots of good moments.  I had the centre seat at a showing of the latest Xmen movie without any feet kicking the back of my chair.  The woman at the fast food restaurant I chose to dine in gave me some money saving coupons.  Also, work seemed to go by pretty quickly.  All an all, a pretty decent day.

Despite this quantity of good moments, picking out today’s perfect moment wasn’t really difficult at all.  At the same time, it really wasn’t something as materially related as the events mentioned above.  Instead, it was something elusive, something lacking in substance or form.  Nonetheless, it was real.

I was riding the bus with all my fellow commuters.  I was reading Pico Iyer’s the Global Soul.  It had an entire chapter on where I lived.   His words spelled out a lot of what I felt, and examined things I had never considered.  I was thoroughly engrossed in the book. Somewhere in the middle of the chapter I looked up to get my bearings straight and noticed that I was not alone in reading.  While this isn’t so unbelievable (I see a large number of book and e-book readers, along with candy crush and 2048 players on my commute every day) it seemed profound at the time.  I was reading a book on commonalities of all people, and here it was being demonstrated to me.  I was not alone.  I was part of some big, independent, unregulated group of people who just wanted to be entertained on tImageheir way home.  My escape was their escape. We were part of something, even if we couldn’t identify what it was.

I have always loved reading, and have met so many people through books and bookstores.  I met a great university friend (and missed relationship) at a bookstore.  I met several amazing people at bookstores in Tokyo and Osaka.  There is something about books.

Several of us reading commuters nodded to each other during the trip because we knew.  We understood.  Hopefully, my words (as inadequate as they are) have helped you understand.  Hopefully you can understand why that was today’s perfect moment.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

