May 6th, 2014

Today’s perfect moment happened at 8:02.  I know this because I checked the time on my obsolete iPod touch.  The fact that is might be fast or slow is really inconsequential.  Today’s perfect moment happened quite early in the day.

I boarded an unusually crowded subway car at Finch station after stepping off an unusually crowded subway platform due to a less than unusually delay.  Next to me, sporting thick framed glasses which I think are nerdy, but seem to be all the rage these days, was a beautiful woman.  She was tall and had well done hair streaks.  Her nails were done in blue and despite sporting a couple of rings on her right hand, she was not sporting any on her left.  Gorgeous.

I’d love to tell you that the perfect moment was talking to her and setting up a date for the near future, that wasn’t it.  The moment that was perfect was that brief moment with the train swaying gently side to side, the announcers taking a break from informing us of continuing delays, and this beautiful woman stealing a glance at my newspaper.  Though I had offered her my extra paper, and even though she had declined, I felt at that moment, I had at least caught her attention.

Sadly, my stop came before hers. and my stolen glances back were foiled by the mass of humanity called late and pissed off commuters.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

